Hosepipe ban 2026: is there a hosepipe ban in my area?
Find out whether a hosepipe ban (also written “hose pipe ban”, and officially a temporary use ban) applies where you live, and whether the hosepipe ban is still on. We read each water supplier’s own website and legal notice, quote its words and link to the source. We never use news reports or other trackers as a source.
We can’t currently confirm most suppliers’ statuses. That does not mean there are no bans: check the table below or your supplier’s own notice.
Statuses last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:54 BST (each supplier’s own check time is shown in the table).
Hosepipe ban postcode checker
Enter your postcode to find your water supplier and its current hosepipe ban status.
Our postcode lookup currently recognises some suppliers only; if it can’t, choose from the list. In Scotland the public supplier is Scottish Water; in Northern Ireland it is NI Water.
Hosepipe bans by water company (UK)
Every public water supplier in Great Britain and Northern Ireland, including regional brands. A status is shown only if we checked the supplier’s official page within the last 48 hours; otherwise it says “Unconfirmed”. Scotland and Northern Ireland are not covered by section 76 of the Water Industry Act 1991; separate laws apply there.
| Supplier | Status | Since / date | Official source | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Affinity Water | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 11 September 2026 at 20:19 BST |
| Anglian Water | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST |
| Bournemouth Water | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST |
| Bristol Water | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST |
| Cambridge Water | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST |
| Dŵr Cymru Welsh Water | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:54 BST |
| Essex & Suffolk Water | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST |
| Hafren Dyfrdwy | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST |
| Hartlepool Water (Anglian Water) | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST |
| Northern Ireland WaterNorthern Ireland: different law applies | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST |
| Northumbrian Water | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST |
| Portsmouth Water | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST |
| Scottish WaterScotland: different law applies | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | Not checked |
| SES Water | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST |
| Severn Trent Water | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST |
| South East Water | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST |
| South Staffs Water | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST |
| South West Water | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST |
| Southern Water | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST |
| Thames Water | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST |
| United Utilities | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST |
| Wessex Water | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:54 BST |
| Yorkshire Water | Unconfirmed | — | Status page ↗ | 12 September 2026 at 10:54 BST |
Details for each supplier
Area descriptions are quoted from each supplier. Where a ban covers only part of an area, use the supplier’s own checker; we do not draw boundaries or infer which streets are covered.
Affinity Water
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check Affinity Water
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours (last successful check 11 September 2026 at 20:19 BST). Check Affinity Water’s official page ↗
Last checked 11 September 2026 at 20:19 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
Anglian Water
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check Anglian Water
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours (last successful check 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST). Check Anglian Water’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
Bournemouth Water
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check Bournemouth Water
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours (last successful check 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST). Check Bournemouth Water’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
Bristol Water
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check Bristol Water
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours (last successful check 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST). Check Bristol Water’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
Cambridge Water
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check Cambridge Water
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours (last successful check 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST). Check Cambridge Water’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
Dŵr Cymru Welsh Water
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check Dŵr Cymru Welsh Water
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours (last successful check 12 September 2026 at 10:54 BST). Check Dŵr Cymru Welsh Water’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:54 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
Essex & Suffolk Water
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check Essex & Suffolk Water
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours (last successful check 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST). Check Essex & Suffolk Water’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
Hafren Dyfrdwy
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check Hafren Dyfrdwy
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours (last successful check 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST). Check Hafren Dyfrdwy’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
Hartlepool Water (Anglian Water)
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check Hartlepool Water (Anglian Water)
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours (last successful check 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST). Check Hartlepool Water (Anglian Water)’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
Northern Ireland Water
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check Northern Ireland Water
Checked 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST. NI Water's official site doesn't currently say whether restrictions apply. Its most recent statement we found is dated 16 July 2026 (“NI Water is not currently considering a hosepipe ban”), which is too old to confirm today's position. Check Northern Ireland Water’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST against the supplier’s website. Northern Ireland: a different law applies (not the Water Industry Act 1991).
Northumbrian Water
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check Northumbrian Water
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours (last successful check 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST). Check Northumbrian Water’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
Portsmouth Water
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check Portsmouth Water
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours (last successful check 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST). Check Portsmouth Water’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
Scottish Water
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check Scottish Water
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours. We found no current official statement about restrictions. Scottish Water's latest water-saving appeal we found is dated 22 July 2026; its weekly resource-levels page does not say whether restrictions apply. Check Scottish Water’s official page ↗
Not yet successfully checked. Scotland: a different law applies (not the Water Industry Act 1991).
SES Water
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check SES Water
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours (last successful check 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST). Check SES Water’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
Severn Trent Water
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check Severn Trent Water
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours (last successful check 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST). Check Severn Trent Water’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
South East Water
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check South East Water
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours (last successful check 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST). Check South East Water’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
South Staffs Water
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check South Staffs Water
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours (last successful check 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST). Check South Staffs Water’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
South West Water
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check South West Water
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours (last successful check 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST). Check South West Water’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
Southern Water
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check Southern Water
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours (last successful check 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST). Check Southern Water’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
Thames Water
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check Thames Water
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours (last successful check 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST). Check Thames Water’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
United Utilities
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check United Utilities
Checked 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST. United Utilities' official site doesn't currently say whether restrictions apply. Its reservoir-levels page (6 September 2026) gives storage figures only. Check United Utilities’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:53 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
Wessex Water
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check Wessex Water
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours (last successful check 12 September 2026 at 10:54 BST). Check Wessex Water’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:54 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
Yorkshire Water
UnconfirmedUnconfirmed — check Yorkshire Water
We couldn’t confirm the supplier’s current position from its official website within the last 48 hours (last successful check 12 September 2026 at 10:54 BST). Check Yorkshire Water’s official page ↗
Last checked 12 September 2026 at 10:54 BST against the supplier’s website. Water Industry Act 1991, section 76 (England and Wales).
Hosepipe bans 2026: dated log
When each 2026 ban was announced, started or was lifted, from the suppliers’ own notices and announcements. Newest first. Link to this list: watergrade.co.uk/hosepipe-ban#hosepipe-bans-2026
- 4 September 2026Lifted: Dŵr Cymru Welsh Water: Ceredigion temporary use ban lifted. Source ↗ (Dŵr Cymru Welsh Water)
- 27 August 2026Started: Bristol Water: hosepipe ban started across its supply area. Source ↗ (Bristol Water)
- 18 August 2026Started: Wessex Water: hosepipe ban started across its supply area. Source ↗ (Wessex Water)
- 8 August 2026Started: South West Water: ban came into effect across its service area. Source ↗ (South West Water)
- 3 August 2026Started: Essex & Suffolk Water: temporary use ban came into force. Source ↗ (Essex & Suffolk Water)
- 25 July 2026Started: South East Water: restrictions extended to Sussex, Surrey, Hampshire and Berkshire. Source ↗ (South East Water)
- 23 July 2026Started: Thames Water: prohibition started across its whole supply area. Source ↗ (Thames Water)
- 19 July 2026Started: Dŵr Cymru Welsh Water: temporary use ban in force from 10:00 in the Mid and South Ceredigion network. Source ↗ (Dŵr Cymru Welsh Water)
- 17 July 2026Started: Affinity Water: restrictions enforced in its Central region. Source ↗ (Affinity Water)
- 17 July 2026Started: Cambridge Water: restrictions enforceable from 1am. Source ↗ (Cambridge Water)
- 11 July 2026Started: Anglian Water: restrictions enforceable from 1.01am. Source ↗ (Anglian Water)
- 10 July 2026Started: Southern Water: restrictions started in Hampshire and the Isle of Wight. Source ↗ (Southern Water)
- 10 July 2026Announced: Anglian Water: temporary use ban announced (excluding Hartlepool). Source ↗ (Anglian Water)
- 9 July 2026Announced: Cambridge Water: hosepipe restrictions in place from 9 July, enforceable from 17 July. Source ↗ (Cambridge Water)
- 3 July 2026Started: South East Water: hosepipe restrictions came into force in Kent. Source ↗ (South East Water)
- Date not statedStarted: Affinity Water: ban extended to its East region (Tendring peninsula). Affinity does not state the start date; the East notice gave 24 August 2026 as the deadline for representations. Source ↗ (Affinity Water)
What the law says: section 76 (England and Wales)
Hosepipe bans in England and Wales are made under section 76 of the Water Industry Act 1991. A water company may ban specified uses of water if it thinks it is experiencing, or may experience, a serious shortage of water for distribution.
Uses that can be banned (section 76(2)):
- watering a garden using a hosepipe
- cleaning a private motor vehicle, or a private leisure boat, using a hosepipe
- watering plants on domestic or other non-commercial premises using a hosepipe
- filling or maintaining a domestic swimming or paddling pool
- drawing water, using a hosepipe, for domestic recreational use
- filling or maintaining a domestic pond using a hosepipe, or an ornamental fountain
- cleaning walls or windows of domestic premises, paths or patios, or other artificial outdoor surfaces, using a hosepipe
Where and when. A ban must state the date it applies from and the area it covers, which may be all or part of the company’s area (section 76(4)).
Fines. Breaking a ban is an offence with a fine on summary conviction not exceeding level 3 on the standard scale (section 76(5)). Several suppliers’ notices state this as a fine not exceeding £1,000.
Notice. Before a ban applies, the company must publish notice in at least two local newspapers and on its website, with details of how to make representations. Changes are treated as new bans, and a lifting (revocation) must also be announced (section 76B).
Exemptions. Each company’s notice lists its exceptions, which often include Blue Badge holders, some Priority Services Register customers and some business, health-and-safety and animal-welfare uses. Check the notice linked for your supplier.
Legislation text read on legislation.gov.uk on 11 September 2026. This is a summary, not legal advice. Scotland and Northern Ireland are not covered by section 76.
Hosepipe ban questions
Is there a hosepipe ban in my area?
Enter your postcode above. We find your water supplier, then show that supplier’s own statement, the date it applies from and a link to its official notice. Some bans cover only part of a supplier’s area; where the supplier publishes its own postcode checker or list, we link to it. We do not draw or guess ban boundaries.
Is the hosepipe ban still on?
Check the status next to your supplier in the table. Each row shows when we last checked the supplier’s official page. If that check is more than 48 hours old, we show “Unconfirmed” instead of the old status, because a ban can start or be lifted at short notice.
What is a hose pipe ban?
“Hosepipe ban” (or “hose pipe ban”) is the everyday name for a temporary use ban. Under section 76 of the Water Industry Act 1991, a water company in England or Wales that thinks it has or may have a serious shortage of water can temporarily ban specified uses, such as watering a garden or cleaning a private car with a hosepipe, or filling a domestic swimming or paddling pool.
What is the fine for breaking a hosepipe ban?
Under section 76(5), a person who breaks a ban is guilty of an offence and liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding level 3 on the standard scale. Several suppliers’ notices, including Thames Water’s and Wessex Water’s, describe this as a fine not exceeding £1,000. Some suppliers say they will remind customers about the restrictions before considering action.
Am I exempt from a hosepipe ban?
Exemptions differ by supplier. Many notices exempt Blue Badge holders or customers on the supplier’s Priority Services Register who cannot use a watering can or bucket, and some uses for health and safety, animal welfare or business. Read your supplier’s notice or exemptions page, linked in its row.
Is there a hosepipe ban map?
We do not publish a map. Bans often cover part of a supplier’s area, and drawing boundaries would mean guessing. Instead, we quote each supplier’s own description of the area, show a postcode-district list only where the supplier publishes one, and link to the supplier’s own checker or map.
Does a hosepipe ban apply in Scotland or Northern Ireland?
Section 76 of the Water Industry Act 1991 applies to England and Wales. Scottish Water and NI Water operate under separate laws, so we do not describe their position using section 76. Check their official pages, linked in the table.
Is a request to save water the same as a hosepipe ban?
No. A voluntary appeal is a request. A ban is a legal restriction, and it applies only after the company has published notice of it, including on its website (section 76B). We never show an appeal as a ban.
How we check
A person reviews each supplier’s official web page and notice before any status is published or changed. An automated job re-reads those pages daily (every six hours from April to October) and flags any change for review; it cannot change a status by itself. If a supplier hasn’t been successfully checked for 48 hours, its status is withdrawn and shown as “Unconfirmed”.
Hosepipe bans are about how much water is available, not its quality. For hardness and water-quality reports, check your water by postcode or see official supplier information. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.