Water hardness and quality in Oldbury

Page updated · Report periods are shown with each report.

Sandwell · West Midlands. Explore the published supply-area report and check your postcode for a supplier-confirmed match.

This is a named-area report associated with Oldbury; it does not confirm the supply at every address.

Confirm your address · Check a postcode

A town can span several supply areas. Enter your full postcode to check which supplier and source area serve your address. Matching covers selected suppliers; unsupported areas remain clearly identified.

Severn Trent Water · Stourbridge West Supply-area results · Hardness: Not stated by supplier · Quality: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated

Your water at a glance

Moderately hard water. Know your mineral level.

This figure helps you choose appliance settings. Hardness describes dissolved minerals and does not establish whether every water-quality requirement was met.

157 mg/l as CaCO₃

Converted from 15.72 French degrees (total hardness) × 10 = 157.2 mg/l as CaCO₃, shown rounded to the nearest whole mg/l.

Soft ≤100 · Slightly hard ≤150 · Moderately hard ≤200 · Hard ≤300 · Very hard >300 mg/l. DWI hardness bands; not safety grades.

Published quality checks

1 parameter needs a closer look

These labels describe Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated. 3 other parameters have no complete compliance judgement here. They are not a guarantee about an individual tap today.

Coliform bacteria

Understand the reported results ↓Read the supplier’s original report and notes ↗

Hardness reporting period: Not stated by supplier · Quality reporting period: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated

Appliance settings · Convert hardness units

1.57 mmol/l

A conversion of the published hardness, not another test. Follow your appliance’s model-specific instructions.

Find your dishwasher’s correct setting

Drinking-water results

What do the important results mean?

Read the status, sample range and source requirement together. A low average can hide an individual exceedance. Green labels mean the supplier reported no exceedances for that parameter and period; amber calls for source context.

Coliform bacteria

! Exceedance reported in this period

Published mean

0 No. / 100ml

Source reference: 0 No. / 100ml

Used to monitor water-system hygiene. Interpret detections with the supplier’s sampling location and investigation notes.

167 samples · Range: 0 to 1 No. / 100ml

The supplier reports 1 sample failing its requirement. Read the investigation notes.

E. coli

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

0 No. / 100ml

Source reference: 0 No. / 100ml

A microbiological indicator. The reported sample results and any failures matter more than an average bacterial count.

167 samples · Range: 0 to 0 No. / 100ml

The source reports 0 failures across 167 samples. This describes the published period.

Lead

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.16 µg/l

Source reference: 10 µg/l

Plumbing can affect lead at an individual tap. An area average cannot rule out a problem with pipes at your property.

8 samples · Range: <0.14 to 0.26 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Nitrate

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

24.70 mg/l

Source reference: 50 mg/l

A dissolved compound monitored against drinking-water requirements. Its mean, highest reported result and sample count answer different questions.

8 samples · Range: 22.60 to 28.90 mg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

For your household

What should you do next?

01

Check appliance settings

Match the hardness unit to your dishwasher manual. Settings depend on the model.

Dishwasher guide
02

Understand treatment options

A filter and a softener do different jobs. Start with the household problem you want to solve.

Filters and limescale
03

A new change at your tap?

For a new taste, smell, colour or supply problem, check current supplier advice. Annual data is not a live incident feed.

Official supplier help ↗

Taste, appearance and mineral content

Chlorine, pH and minerals answer different questions. Calcium and magnesium help describe hardness; chloride is different from treatment chlorine. None is a stand-alone water-quality score.

Free chlorine residual

Disinfectant remaining after treatment. It can influence taste and smell; a lower concentration is not automatically better.

See the measurement and context ↓

pH

Describes acidity and alkalinity on a scale, rather than an amount of a substance. Where the source gives a range, both its lower and upper bounds matter.

See the measurement and context ↓
How to read a water-quality report

Has the hardness changed?

History for this reported source area. Only comparable annual statistics appear in the chart; rolling summaries are kept separate. These are not daily tests at your address.

A comparable historical series is not available yet. We will add earlier reports when we can verify their periods and source areas.

Explore all measurements · 50 parameters · Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated

Every result retains its original units, range, sample count and source notes. Comparisons use the reference printed in this report; qualitative references and missing limits are not converted into invented pass/fail judgements. Unlisted substances are not necessarily absent from the water.

Parameters without their own explanation: A substance monitored in this supplier report. The source reference, units, sample range and any reported failures provide its context; the number alone is not a water-quality rating.

Source note on 49 of these parameters: “Counts and limits reproduce the supplier’s report. Historical results do not describe current incidents.”

A failure count (under “Original wording and source notes”) supports a pass/fail label only where the report gives an applicable limit for that parameter.

Hardness and minerals 5 parameters

Chloride

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

26.0 mg/l

Source reference: 250 mg/l

A dissolved salt component that can influence taste at higher concentrations. It is different from chlorine used in treatment.

40 samples · Range: 12.2 to 52.0 mg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 40 samples. This describes the published period.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 250. Source parameter: Chloride. Original mean: 26.0 mg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Fluoride

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

0.91 mg/l

Source reference: 1.5 mg/l

Can occur naturally or be added through a fluoridation scheme. The concentration alone does not tell you whether it was added; a lower number is not automatically better.

8 samples · Range: 0.42 to 1.15 mg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 1.5. Source parameter: Fluoride. Original mean: 0.91 mg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Sodium

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

18.0 mg/l

Source reference: 200 mg/l

A dissolved salt component. Compare the water measurement with its source reference; it is not a measure of your total dietary salt intake.

8 samples · Range: 16.5 to 20.4 mg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 200. Source parameter: Sodium. Original mean: 18.0 mg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Sulphate

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

38.3 mg/l

Source reference: 250 mg/l

A dissolved mineral component monitored in water-quality reports. Read its concentration alongside the source reference.

40 samples · Range: 17.9 to 79.5 mg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 40 samples. This describes the published period.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 250. Source parameter: Sulphate. Original mean: 38.3 mg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Total hardness

No numerical limit supplied

Converted mean

157.2 mg/l as CaCO₃

Converted from 15.72 French degrees (total hardness) × 10.

Source reference: Not supplied

Dissolved calcium and magnesium affect limescale and appliance settings. This is a mineral description, not a safety score.

Sample count not supplied · Range: — to — mg/l as CaCO₃

This report gives no numerical limit for this parameter. A higher or lower number is not automatically better.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: Not supplied. Source parameter: Supplier typical hardness. Converted mean: 157.2 mg/l as CaCO₃.

Supplier hardness summary: 15.72 French degrees, converted at 10 mg/l as CaCO₃ per French degree. The hardness sampling period and sample count are not separately stated; do not treat this as an annual mean or a trend point.

Taste, appearance and treatment 8 parameters

Colour

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.8 mg/l Pt/Co

Source reference: 20 mg/l Pt/Co

A measure of water colour under test conditions. A new change at your tap should be checked with your supplier.

52 samples · Range: <0.8 to <1.3 mg/l Pt/Co

The source reports 0 failures across 52 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 20. Source parameter: Colour. Original mean: <0.8 mg/l Pt/Co.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Conductivity

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

377.7 µS/cm at 20ºC

Source reference: 2500 µS/cm at 20ºC

Indicates how readily water conducts electricity, influenced by dissolved ions. It is not a direct measurement of hardness or safety.

52 samples · Range: 335.0 to 413.0 µS/cm at 20ºC

The source reports 0 failures across 52 samples. This describes the published period.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 2500. Source parameter: Conductivity. Original mean: 377.7 µS/cm at 20ºC.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Free chlorine residual

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

0.51 mg/l

Source reference: No abnormal change

Disinfectant remaining after treatment. It can influence taste and smell; a lower concentration is not automatically better.

167 samples · Range: 0.11 to 0.79 mg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 167 samples. This describes the published period.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: No abnormal change. Source parameter: Free Chlorine. Original mean: 0.51 mg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Odour

Reference needs source context

Published mean

0 Dilution Number

Source reference: Acceptable to Customer and no abnormal change

A sensory assessment of smell in the sampled water. It cannot identify the cause of a current change at your tap.

52 samples · Range: 0 to 0 Dilution Number

The supplied reference cannot be safely compared numerically with this reading. Check its units and the complete source requirement; no pass/fail judgement is inferred.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: Acceptable to Customer and no abnormal change. Source parameter: Odour. Original mean: 0 Dilution Number.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

pH

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

7.90 pH value

Source reference: Min 6.5, Max 9.5

Describes acidity and alkalinity on a scale, rather than an amount of a substance. Where the source gives a range, both its lower and upper bounds matter.

52 samples · Range: 7.76 to 8.06 pH value

The source reports 0 failures across 52 samples. This describes the published period.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: Min 6.5, Max 9.5. Source parameter: pH. Original mean: 7.90 pH value.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Taste

Reference needs source context

Published mean

0 Dilution Number

Source reference: Acceptable to Customer and no abnormal change

A sensory assessment of the sampled water. It cannot explain a new taste at your home today.

52 samples · Range: 0 to 0 Dilution Number

The supplied reference cannot be safely compared numerically with this reading. Check its units and the complete source requirement; no pass/fail judgement is inferred.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: Acceptable to Customer and no abnormal change. Source parameter: Taste. Original mean: 0 Dilution Number.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Total organic carbon

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.9 mg/l

Source reference: No abnormal change

A broad measure of organic carbon used to understand water and treatment. It does not identify an individual contaminant.

40 samples · Range: <0.8 to 1.5 mg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 40 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: No abnormal change. Source parameter: Total Organic Carbon. Original mean: <0.9 mg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Turbidity

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.12 NTU

Source reference: 4 NTU

Measures cloudiness caused by suspended particles. It cannot identify their cause on its own.

52 samples · Range: <0.12 to 0.14 NTU

The source reports 0 failures across 52 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 4. Source parameter: Turbidity. Original mean: <0.12 NTU.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Metals 13 parameters

Aluminium

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<16.7 µg/l

Source reference: 200 µg/l

Monitored as part of water-quality testing and treatment control. Compare with the reference and sample results in the source.

52 samples · Range: <9.4 to 26.0 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 52 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 200. Source parameter: Aluminium. Original mean: <16.7 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Antimony

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.06 µg/l

Source reference: 5 µg/l

A trace element monitored in drinking water. The source reference and sample results provide the relevant comparison.

8 samples · Range: <0.06 to <0.06 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 5. Source parameter: Antimony. Original mean: <0.06 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Arsenic

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

1.37 µg/l

Source reference: 10 µg/l

A trace element monitored against a drinking-water requirement. Use the source results and units rather than taste or appearance to interpret it.

8 samples · Range: 1.26 to 1.48 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 10. Source parameter: Arsenic. Original mean: 1.37 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Boron

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.055 mg/l

Source reference: 1 mg/l

A dissolved element monitored in drinking water. The source reference applies to the parameter and units shown here.

40 samples · Range: <0.030 to 0.158 mg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 40 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 1. Source parameter: Boron. Original mean: <0.055 mg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Cadmium

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.02 µg/l

Source reference: 5 µg/l

A trace metal monitored in drinking water. A less-than result reports an upper bound, not a measured zero.

8 samples · Range: <0.01 to 0.02 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 5. Source parameter: Cadmium. Original mean: <0.02 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Chromium

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.42 µg/l

Source reference: 50 µg/l

A trace metal monitored in drinking-water reports. Keep the source’s chemical definition and units when comparing results.

8 samples · Range: <0.42 to <0.42 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 50. Source parameter: Chromium. Original mean: <0.42 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Copper

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

0.0473 mg/l

Source reference: 2 mg/l

Can be influenced by plumbing. The area report does not replace investigation of a problem at an individual property.

8 samples · Range: 0.0029 to 0.1705 mg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 2. Source parameter: Copper. Original mean: 0.0473 mg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Iron

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<8.1 µg/l

Source reference: 200 µg/l

Can affect water colour, staining and taste. A historical result does not diagnose a change in your tap water today.

52 samples · Range: <3.7 to 26.9 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 52 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 200. Source parameter: Iron. Original mean: <8.1 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Lead

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.16 µg/l

Source reference: 10 µg/l

Plumbing can affect lead at an individual tap. An area average cannot rule out a problem with pipes at your property.

8 samples · Range: <0.14 to 0.26 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 10. Source parameter: Lead. Original mean: <0.16 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Manganese

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.93 µg/l

Source reference: 50 µg/l

Can affect colour and deposits. Any reported exceedance needs the supplier’s investigation context.

51 samples · Range: <0.73 to 2.10 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 51 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 50. Source parameter: Manganese. Original mean: <0.93 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Mercury

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.022 µg/l

Source reference: 1 µg/l

A trace metal monitored against drinking-water requirements. Keep detection limits separate from exact measurements.

40 samples · Range: <0.022 to <0.022 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 40 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 1. Source parameter: Mercury. Original mean: <0.022 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Nickel

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<1.1 µg/l

Source reference: 20 µg/l

A monitored metal that can be influenced by materials in contact with water. Local plumbing and sampling context matter.

8 samples · Range: <1.0 to 1.3 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 20. Source parameter: Nickel. Original mean: <1.1 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Selenium

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

0.48 µg/l

Source reference: 10 µg/l

A trace element monitored in drinking water. Its presence alone does not establish that a requirement was exceeded.

8 samples · Range: 0.44 to 0.53 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 10. Source parameter: Selenium. Original mean: 0.48 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Microbiology 4 parameters

Clostridium perfringens

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

0 No. / 100ml

Source reference: 0 No. / 100ml

A microbiological indicator used in water-quality monitoring. Check the sample results and source investigation context.

52 samples · Range: 0 to 0 No. / 100ml

The source reports 0 failures across 52 samples. This describes the published period.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 0. Source parameter: Clostridium perfringens. Original mean: 0 No. / 100ml.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Coliform bacteria

! Exceedance reported in this period

Published mean

0 No. / 100ml

Source reference: 0 No. / 100ml

Used to monitor water-system hygiene. Interpret detections with the supplier’s sampling location and investigation notes.

167 samples · Range: 0 to 1 No. / 100ml

The supplier reports 1 sample failing its requirement. Read the investigation notes.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 0. Source parameter: Coliform Bacteria. Original mean: 0 No. / 100ml.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 1.

E. coli

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

0 No. / 100ml

Source reference: 0 No. / 100ml

A microbiological indicator. The reported sample results and any failures matter more than an average bacterial count.

167 samples · Range: 0 to 0 No. / 100ml

The source reports 0 failures across 167 samples. This describes the published period.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 0. Source parameter: E. coli. Original mean: 0 No. / 100ml.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Enterococci

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

0 No. / 100ml

Source reference: 0 No. / 100ml

A microbiological indicator assessed through sample results. Read any reported failures with the supplier’s investigation notes.

8 samples · Range: 0 to 0 No. / 100ml

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 0. Source parameter: Enterococci. Original mean: 0 No. / 100ml.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Other monitored substances 20 parameters

1,2-Dichloroethane

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.25 µg/l

Source reference: 3 µg/l

About this parameter: see the note above this list.

40 samples · Range: <0.25 to <0.25 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 40 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 3. Source parameter: 1,2-Dichloroethane. Original mean: <0.25 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Aldrin

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.0039 µg/l

Source reference: 0.03 µg/l

About this parameter: see the note above this list.

32 samples · Range: <0.0036 to <0.0080 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 32 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 0.03. Source parameter: Aldrin. Original mean: <0.0039 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Ammonium

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.023 mg/l

Source reference: 0.5 mg/l

About this parameter: see the note above this list.

52 samples · Range: <0.022 to <0.029 mg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 52 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 0.5. Source parameter: Ammonium. Original mean: <0.023 mg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Benzene

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.06 µg/l

Source reference: 1 µg/l

About this parameter: see the note above this list.

40 samples · Range: <0.05 to <0.06 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 40 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 1. Source parameter: Benzene. Original mean: <0.06 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Benzo-3,4-Pyrene

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.001 µg/l

Source reference: 0.01 µg/l

About this parameter: see the note above this list.

8 samples · Range: <0.001 to <0.001 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 0.01. Source parameter: Benzo-3,4-Pyrene. Original mean: <0.001 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Bromate

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.63 µg/l

Source reference: 10 µg/l

About this parameter: see the note above this list.

8 samples · Range: <0.41 to 1.67 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 10. Source parameter: Bromate. Original mean: <0.63 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Colony Count After 72 Hours at 22ºC

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

1 No. / 100ml

Source reference: No abnormal change

About this parameter: see the note above this list.

52 samples · Range: 0 to 48 No. / 100ml

The source reports 0 failures across 52 samples. This describes the published period.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: No abnormal change. Source parameter: Colony Count After 72 Hours at 22ºC. Original mean: 1 No. / 100ml.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Cyanide

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<4.5 µg/l

Source reference: 50 µg/l

About this parameter: see the note above this list.

40 samples · Range: <1.2 to <4.6 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 40 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 50. Source parameter: Cyanide. Original mean: <4.5 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Dieldrin

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.0038 µg/l

Source reference: 0.03 µg/l

About this parameter: see the note above this list.

32 samples · Range: <0.0035 to <0.0090 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 32 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 0.03. Source parameter: Dieldrin. Original mean: <0.0038 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Heptachlor

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.0028 µg/l

Source reference: 0.03 µg/l

About this parameter: see the note above this list.

32 samples · Range: <0.0028 to <0.0028 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 32 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 0.03. Source parameter: Heptachlor. Original mean: <0.0028 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Heptachlor epoxide

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

0.0000 µg/l

Source reference: 0.03 µg/l

About this parameter: see the note above this list.

32 samples · Range: 0.0000 to 0.0000 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 32 samples. This describes the published period.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 0.03. Source parameter: Heptachlor epoxide. Original mean: 0.0000 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Nitrate

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

24.70 mg/l

Source reference: 50 mg/l

A dissolved compound monitored against drinking-water requirements. Its mean, highest reported result and sample count answer different questions.

8 samples · Range: 22.60 to 28.90 mg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 50. Source parameter: Nitrate. Original mean: 24.70 mg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Nitrite

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.004 mg/l

Source reference: 0.5 mg/l

A nitrogen compound monitored in water supplies. Requirements can depend on where the sample was collected; use the reference printed in this report.

8 samples · Range: <0.003 to <0.013 mg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 0.5. Source parameter: Nitrite. Original mean: <0.004 mg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Nitrite - Nitrate Calculated

Reference needs source context

Published mean

0.49 -

Source reference: <1

About this parameter: see the note above this list.

8 samples · Range: 0.45 to 0.58 -

The supplied reference cannot be safely compared numerically with this reading. Check its units and the complete source requirement; no pass/fail judgement is inferred.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: <1. Source parameter: Nitrite - Nitrate Calculated. Original mean: 0.49 -.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

PAH

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

0.00 µg/l

Source reference: 0.1 µg/l

About this parameter: see the note above this list.

8 samples · Range: 0.00 to 0.00 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 0.1. Source parameter: PAH. Original mean: 0.00 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Pesticides Other

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.0086 µg/l

Source reference: 0.1 µg/l

About this parameter: see the note above this list.

1296 samples · Range: <0.0027 to 0.0244 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 1296 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 0.1. Source parameter: Pesticides Other. Original mean: <0.0086 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Tetrachloroethene and Trichloroethene

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

0.00 µg/l

Source reference: 10 µg/l

About this parameter: see the note above this list.

8 samples · Range: 0.00 to 0.00 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 10. Source parameter: Tetrachloroethene and Trichloroethene. Original mean: 0.00 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Tetrachloromethane

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

<0.24 µg/l

Source reference: 3 µg/l

About this parameter: see the note above this list.

8 samples · Range: <0.20 to <0.36 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

“<” is part of the source result. It is not an exact concentration or a measured zero.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 3. Source parameter: Tetrachloromethane. Original mean: <0.24 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Total Pesticides

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

0.0040 µg/l

Source reference: 0.5 µg/l

About this parameter: see the note above this list.

37 samples · Range: 0.0000 to 0.0244 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 37 samples. This describes the published period.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 0.5. Source parameter: Total Pesticides. Original mean: 0.0040 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Total Trihalomethanes

✓ No exceedances reported

Published mean

24.35 µg/l

Source reference: 100 µg/l

About this parameter: see the note above this list.

8 samples · Range: 17.64 to 31.90 µg/l

The source reports 0 failures across 8 samples. This describes the published period.

Original wording and source notes

Source reference: 100. Source parameter: Total Trihalomethanes. Original mean: 24.35 µg/l.

Source note: printed once above this list (the same note appears on 49 parameters).

Source failure-count field: 0.

Sources, dates and how to interpret this page
Reporting period
Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated
Source retrieved
2026-09-11
Last verified source check
2026-09-11
Original publication
Severn Trent Water report ↗

Official supplier report for this supply zone, retrieved with postcode DY8 1FB. Town pages that cite this zone show their own supplier-confirmed example postcode. This is an example supply area, not a measurement at every address in the towns it serves.

Quality statistics cover the explicitly dated rolling period. The separate typical hardness summary has no stated sampling period and is not an annual trend point.

All published numeric parameters are retained, including censored readings and historical failures. These results are not a statement about current incidents.

Supplier hardness summary: 15.72 French degrees, converted at 10 mg/l as CaCO₃ per French degree. The hardness sampling period and sample count are not separately stated; do not treat this as an annual mean or a trend point.

Status labels describe the published parameter and period. Historical exceedances do not automatically establish a current incident. Numerical limits are taken from the original report, not applied indiscriminately across countries, dates or sampling locations. DWI explains how standards work in England and Wales.

Our methodology · Report a correction

Keep this report

Link to Stourbridge West

Saved areas stay on this device. This does not subscribe you to messages or emergency alerts.

Help us make this clearer

Optional, anonymous feedback. Please answer based on what the report explained.

What does this report describe?

Did this help answer your question?

We store daily answer counts, without names or visitor identifiers. Repeated answers can contribute; this is not a representative survey.

Questions about water in Oldbury

Is the water in Oldbury hard or soft?

Moderately hard. Severn Trent Water gives a typical total hardness of 157 mg/l as calcium carbonate (converted from 15.72 French degrees) for the Stourbridge West supply area, with no reporting period stated. This is a named-area report, not confirmation of the supply at every address, so check your full postcode.

Who supplies water in Oldbury?

Severn Trent Water publishes the report for the Stourbridge West supply area shown on this page, an area associated with Oldbury. Other addresses may differ: check your full postcode or use Severn Trent Water’s water quality information.

Do I need a water softener in Oldbury?

At 157 mg/l as calcium carbonate, near the bottom of the moderately hard band (above 150 to 200 mg/l), water can leave some scale in kettles and on taps over time. That is about 8.8 °dH or 11.0 Clark degrees, units many appliance manuals use, so check your dishwasher setting. A softener is a household choice, not a requirement; check what a filter or softener actually does before buying.

How up to date is the water information for Oldbury?

Water-quality results come from Severn Trent Water’s rolling summary (1 August 2025 to 31 July 2026). The hardness figure is a typical value with no stated period, so it should not be assumed to match those dates. These are area summaries, not live tests of your tap; see the original Severn Trent Water report.