The Midlands and adjoining areas

Severn Trent Water: water quality and hardness

Severn Trent supplies drinking water across a large regional network and also provides wastewater services. The supplier and the precise water source should be checked for your address rather than inferred from the nearest city.

An independent WaterGrade guide. Local readings vary by source area and date.

Find the water serving your home

This checks the supplying area; it does not assume this company serves every postcode you enter.

How Severn Trent Water reports on your water

Its official checker offers several reporting windows. The typical hardness summary does not necessarily use the same sampling period as the detailed water-quality table.

Enter your postcode, select the reporting window and keep the zone name. WaterGrade retains the quality period separately from typical hardness when the supplier does not state a hardness sampling period.

Company information and source context ↗

What WaterGrade currently holds

Named areas with records
218
Areas with measured hardness
38
Areas with other quality data
218
Areas with annual hardness history
0

These count our verified records, including historical areas. They are not the company’s current total zones, population coverage or a quality score.

Chester and Nottingham have recently verified full reports. Other retained source-area summaries have their own dates and limits; they are not a claim of complete current coverage.

Is the water hard or soft?

Check the figure for your supply zone. A company can deliver water from different sources, so a single average can give the wrong appliance setting for your home. Hardness describes dissolved minerals; it is not a safety rating.

Our local cards use mg/l as calcium carbonate (CaCO₃). Keep the original unit and reporting period when comparing results. Supplier labels can use different hardness bands.

What do the quality results tell you?

Read each parameter with its units, sample count, range and reporting period. A mean below a reference limit does not establish that every sample complied. A “less than” result is not an exact concentration.

Company-wide performance, local zone results and water at an individual tap are different levels of information. Historical exceedances need the supplier’s investigation context; they are not automatically a current incident.

Understand the measurements in a water report

One named-area example · not a company average

Inside the City report

97 mg/l as CaCO₃ · hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality reporting period: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated. 50 parameters in this publication. Hardness may come from a separate source and period.

Selected source measurements for City
ParameterPublished meanSamples
Fluoride<0.04 mg/l7
Free Chlorine0.45 mg/l129
Iron<11.6 µg/l50
Lead<0.24 µg/l7
Nitrate<8.91 mg/l7
pH7.48 pH value50

This selected example may not serve your postcode. Open the full report for ranges, source notes, any reported contraventions and the original document.

Read the full City report →

Find your local source-area report

Use the exact area name from the supplier’s checker. Older areas can have been renamed or replaced. Each card keeps the hardness period separate from other quality data.

218 areas match · showing 24.

Alfreton

175 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Moderately hard

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Bromsberrow

297 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Hard

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Bromsgrove

176 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Moderately hard

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Butterhill

352 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Very hard

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Cheadle

212 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Hard

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

City

97 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Soft

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Derbyshire West

77 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Soft

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Dursley

201 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Hard

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

East Leicester Rural

249 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Hard

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Eastwood and Nuthall

181 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Moderately hard

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Forest South

123 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Slightly hard

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Harborne

56 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Soft

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Hazy Hill

173 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Moderately hard

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Hinckley

204 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Hard

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Kidderminster

192 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Moderately hard

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Ladderedge

121 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Slightly hard

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Leamington

304 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Very hard

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Lydbrook

335 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Very hard

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Mansfield

303 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Very hard

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Matlock

52 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Soft

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Mitcheldean

123 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Slightly hard

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Newark

206 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Hard

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Nottingham City

227 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Hard

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Nuneaton North

203 mg/l as CaCO₃ · Hard

Hardness period: Not stated by supplier

Quality report: Rolling report 2025-08-01 to 2026-07-31; hardness period not stated · 49 other parameters

Named-area data; confirm your postcode before using it.

Severn Trent Water town pages

1357 town pages use an approved Severn Trent Water report for the supply area associated with each town. A town can span several supply areas, so check your full postcode before relying on a result.

A 58

B 166

C 122

D 38

E 41

F 27

G 35

H 92

I 9

J 1

K 30

L 96

M 57

N 85

O 26

P 45

Q 5

R 51

S 152

T 61

U 27

W 129

Y 3

Z 1

Has the water changed over time?

Compare the same named area, metric, units and kind of reporting period. A new download date is not a new sample. Renamed zones or overlapping rolling windows need extra care before drawing a trend.

We do not yet hold a comparable annual hardness series for this supplier. We do not draw a trend from a single edition or overlapping rolling reports.

Open a local report and choose “Save on this browser” to return later. Saved reports can be checked for revised published details; this is not an emergency-alert service.

Official help and sources

For a new change in water appearance, taste, smell or supply, check the supplier’s current guidance and contact it directly. This page summarises published information and does not monitor live incidents.

Company guide and official routes reviewed 6 September 2026. Measurements refresh from approved reports and retain their own dates. Read our source methodology.

← Explore another water company